I am smarter than the phone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got a new phone!   I Spent two frustrating hours with my son Wednesday night trying to learn the basics of my new Droid X.  My son kept telling me, “Don’t over-think this phone.  Be smarter than the phone.”  When I got home from my son’s house I kept fiddling with it all the while repeating my mantra,  “BE SMARTER THAN THE PHONE.  BE SMARTER THAN THE PHONE”.  Lo and behold I got to where I could do some things with it.  I also kept telling myself that they wouldn’t make a phone that people couldn’t figure out.  But, then I would despair and remember that there are people and then there is me!  I have finally begun to feel comfortable with it.  I wanted to put in some numbers on speed dial and couldn’t get any good info on how to do that.  So I asked my face book  friends and my wonderfully smart, retired math teacher friend, Carol Hobby told me exactly how to do it.  My friend Pam Meeks used Carol’s instructions and it worked perfectly for her.  I still couldn’t get it to work.  I put it down over night and came back to it this morning, still no luck.  Then Carol told me one simple thing, “Don’t type in the number,  scroll to it.”  Voila!  That was the ticket.  LOL Carol probably thought, “How would a special ed teacher go about doing this?”  and then she sent me the one simple thing to do.  Thanks so much.  Now I have all my numbers in my speed dial.  I figured out how to set different ring tones for different people and how to set up my ICE numbers.  Watch out world I am about to buy some apps!

Make a nice day-

~Ann

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari Holt
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 21:51:01

    There are some awesome camera apps in the Android Marketplace – my faves are Retro Camera, FxCamera, and Vignette. I paid for the full version of Vignette so I could use the full 8 MP of the camera on my HTC Incredible and I have gotten some amazing shots with it!!!! I could not live without my Android phone now ….

    Reply

  2. Carol Hobby
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 22:40:36

    Ann:
    I always remember that most programmers are MEN. So a person has to think like a man in order to figure out their poor step by step instructions. I am happy to have been able to help you set up your new phone! Isn’t it wonderful to be able to speed dial your friends?

    By the way, my son is a computer software engineer. So, I have first hand information on how programmers think!

    Carol

    Reply

  3. myfourstories
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 17:44:29

    Glad you got it worked out!! I *think* I have figured out much of my iPhone now with a little help from some online friends too. Not ventured out into the aps world yet though. You are a brave soul, Ann

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

